Retail integration

Sprouts Farmers Market EDI requirements for suppliers

What Sprouts Farmers Market publishes for suppliers about EDI, including the documents it expects, its designated EDI provider, the Workday supplier portal and its payment terms.

Overview

Understanding Sprouts Farmers Market integration

Who this is for: Natural and organic food, vitamin and body care suppliers selling to Sprouts Farmers Market, and the EDI and accounting teams that support them.

Sprouts states its EDI expectation in the commitments it asks of every new supplier: the ability to use Electronic Data Interchange to receive purchase orders and to send purchase order acknowledgments, invoices and advance ship notices. The same list asks domestic vendors to take payment by electronic funds transfer and sets standard net 30 terms, with vendor promotions deducted from open payables.

Sprouts works with a designated EDI provider. Its vendor agreement says EDI is done through Sprouts' designated provider, and its supplier resources page links to two "Get Started with EDI" sites run by that provider, one for grocery suppliers and one for indirect spend. The indirect spend site lists guides for the 850 purchase order, 855 acknowledgment, 856 ship notice and 810 invoice; the grocery site no longer loads.

Selected suppliers are invited to the Workday Financials supplier portal, where they check payment status, retrieve purchase orders and submit invoices. This guide records what Sprouts publishes and when we checked, and lists what we could not confirm.

Requirements at a glance

What Sprouts Farmers Market publishes for suppliers

Sprouts asks suppliers to use EDI to receive purchase orders and to send purchase order acknowledgments, invoices and ASNs, through its designated EDI provider. The provider's Sprouts site for indirect spend, linked from Sprouts Supplier Resources, lists guides for the 850, 855, 856 and 810. Versions are not stated on the public pages. We checked on October 31, 2026.

Sprouts Supplier Resources

New supplier forms, the Workday portal links and the Get Started with EDI guides.

Public Official site

Workday Financials supplier portal

Payment status, contact information, purchase orders and invoice submission for invited suppliers.

Official site

Business units and channels

Sprouts Farmers Market business units suppliers trade with

Large retailers often handle each business unit or channel as a separate EDI relationship, with its own documents, guides and setup. Confirm with Sprouts Farmers Market which of these you supply before mapping.

Stores and distribution centers

Product suppliers (stores)

Suppliers of grocery, frozen, dairy, bulk, vitamins, body care, produce and beverage products to Sprouts stores.

Documents: 850,855,856,810

Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market page

Other channel

Indirect spend suppliers

Suppliers of goods not for resale, services and IT, with a separate onboarding site run by Sprouts' designated EDI provider.

Documents: 850,855,856,810

Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market page

Workflows

Typical Sprouts Farmers Market business workflows

The steps summarize the documents below. Where a step is not in Sprouts Farmers Market's published documents, it reflects common practice.

Supplier order-to-cash

  1. 1Receive 850 purchase order
  2. 2Send 855 acknowledgment
  3. 3Ship to Sprouts
  4. 4Send 856 ship notice
  5. 5Send 810 invoice
  6. 6Receive EFT payment

Documents and APIs

Sprouts Farmers Market documents by program

Every document this guide names, with the program it applies to and its status. Required, optional and conditional come from Sprouts Farmers Market's published documents cited below; documents marked general guidance are common in this industry but not confirmed for Sprouts Farmers Market.

DocumentNameDirectionProgramStatusPurpose
850 Purchase Order You receive from Sprouts Farmers Market Product suppliers (stores), Indirect spend suppliers Named; level not stated Sprouts asks suppliers to be able to receive purchase orders by EDI.
855 Purchase Order Acknowledgment You send to Sprouts Farmers Market Product suppliers (stores), Indirect spend suppliers Named; level not stated Sprouts asks suppliers to be able to send purchase order acknowledgments by EDI.
856 Advance Ship Notice You send to Sprouts Farmers Market Product suppliers (stores), Indirect spend suppliers Named; level not stated Sprouts asks suppliers to be able to send ASNs by EDI.
810 Invoice You send to Sprouts Farmers Market Product suppliers (stores), Indirect spend suppliers Named; level not stated Sprouts asks suppliers to be able to send invoices by EDI.
How documents flow between a supplier and Sprouts Farmers MarketSequence diagram of EDI documents between a supplier and Sprouts Farmers Market: 850 Purchase Order from Sprouts Farmers Market, 855 Purchase Order Acknowledgment to Sprouts Farmers Market, 856 Advance Ship Notice to Sprouts Farmers Market and 810 Invoice to Sprouts Farmers Market.How documents flow between a supplier and Sprouts FarmersMarketThe documents on this page in a typical order. Your Sprouts Farmers Market program and guides decide whichapplySupplierSprouts Farmers Market850 Purchase Order855 Purchase Order Acknowledgment856 Advance Ship Notice810 InvoiceDocuments as listed on this page, checked 2026-10-31. Sprouts Farmers Market's current guides are the authoritative reference.
How documents flow between a supplier and Sprouts Farmers MarketSequence diagram of EDI documents between a supplier and Sprouts Farmers Market: 850 Purchase Order from Sprouts Farmers Market, 855 Purchase Order Acknowledgment to Sprouts Farmers Market, 856 Advance Ship Notice to Sprouts Farmers Market and 810 Invoice to Sprouts Farmers Market.How documents flow between asupplier and Sprouts FarmersMarketThe documents on this page in a typical order.Your Sprouts Farmers Market program andguides decide which applySupplierSprouts FarmersMarket850 Purchase Order855 Purchase OrderAcknowledgment856 Advance Ship Notice810 InvoiceDocuments as listed on this page, checked2026-10-31. Sprouts Farmers Market's current guidesare the authoritative reference.

Read from top to bottom. Solid arrows are documents Sprouts Farmers Market names in its own public documentation; the dashed arrow is the acknowledgment. The order is typical, not a Sprouts Farmers Market rule: programs such as vendor direct to consumer use their own documents and timing.

Expand diagram Download SVG

Document by document

What each Sprouts Farmers Market document needs

For each document: what it does for you as the supplier, what Sprouts Farmers Market's own documents say about it (with the source and its date), and general EDI practice that helps, labelled as such. Your Sprouts Farmers Market mapping guide for your version is the final word on fields and codes.

Onboarding

Getting set up with Sprouts Farmers Market, step by step

Steps with a source come from Sprouts Farmers Market's own onboarding material; the others are general practice that keeps the project on track.

  1. Submit your product

    New vendors submit items through Sprouts' new item submission process.

    Source: Sprouts, Become a Sprouts Supplier or Private Label Partner, Oct 31, 2026
  2. Join the Workday supplier portal

    If your product is selected, a Sprouts team member emails an invitation to set up a Workday Financials supplier portal account.

    Source: Sprouts, Become a Sprouts Supplier or Private Label Partner, Oct 31, 2026
  3. Complete the onboarding forms

    Return the store delivery listing form, EFT authorization, W-9, vendor agreement and certificate of insurance.

    Source: Sprouts, Supplier Resources, Oct 31, 2026
  4. Set up EDI with the designated provider

    Follow Sprouts' Get Started with EDI guidance and connect through its designated provider.

    Source: Sprouts, Vendor Onboarding Packet, May 2019
Getting set up with Sprouts Farmers MarketFlow diagram of 4 onboarding steps with Sprouts Farmers Market: Submit your product, Join the Workday supplier portal, Complete the onboarding forms and Set up EDI with the designated provider.Getting set up with Sprouts Farmers MarketThe onboarding steps on this page, in order1Submit productSprouts Farmers MarketsourceStep 12Workday invitationSprouts Farmers MarketsourceStep 23Onboarding formsSprouts Farmers MarketsourceStep 34Set up EDISprouts Farmers MarketsourceStep 4Onboarding steps as listed on this page, checked 2026-10-31. Sprouts Farmers Market's current onboarding instructions are the authoritative reference.
Getting set up with Sprouts Farmers MarketFlow diagram of 4 onboarding steps with Sprouts Farmers Market: Submit your product, Join the Workday supplier portal, Complete the onboarding forms and Set up EDI with the designated provider.Getting set up with SproutsFarmers MarketThe onboarding steps on this page, in order1Submit productSprouts Farmers Market sourceStep 12Workday invitationSprouts Farmers Market sourceStep 23Onboarding formsSprouts Farmers Market sourceStep 34Set up EDISprouts Farmers Market sourceStep 4Onboarding steps as listed on this page, checked2026-10-31. Sprouts Farmers Market's currentonboarding instructions are the authoritativereference.

Read left to right, or top to bottom on a phone. 4 of the 4 steps come from Sprouts Farmers Market's own published material and are marked "Sprouts Farmers Market source"; the rest are general practice. Week numbers are given only where Sprouts Farmers Market states them.

Expand diagram Download SVG

Verification

What we checked, and where

Each statement below shows its source and the date we checked it. Statements we could not confirm from an official Sprouts Farmers Market source are labelled as such.

TopicStatementEvidenceChecked
DocumentsNew suppliers commit to using EDI to receive purchase orders and submit purchase order acknowledgments, invoices and ASNs.Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market pageOct 31, 2026
ConnectivitySprouts' vendor agreement requires EDI to follow Sprouts' policies and procedures and to run through its designated EDI provider.Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market pageOct 31, 2026
PaymentsSprouts lists standard net 30 payment terms, with vendor promotions deducted from open payables, and requires EFT for domestic vendors.Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market pageOct 31, 2026
Supplier portalSelected suppliers receive an email invitation to set up an account on the Workday Financials supplier portal.Confirmed on a public Sprouts Farmers Market pageOct 31, 2026
OnboardingSprouts' Get Started with EDI page for grocery suppliers no longer loaded when we checked.Named in a public Sprouts Farmers Market document title; contents not reviewedOct 31, 2026

Available only after supplier login

Sprouts Farmers Market keeps these behind its supplier portal. This guide does not reproduce them; use your own Sprouts Farmers Market access or ask your Sprouts Farmers Market contact.

  • Purchase orders, invoices and payments in the Workday Financials supplier portal
  • Sprouts' EDI specifications for grocery suppliers, from its designated provider

Not confirmed

We could not confirm these from an official public source, so we do not state them as Sprouts Farmers Market requirements.

  • The X12 versions and any grocery-specific documents Sprouts uses
  • Whether suppliers can connect through an EDI provider other than the designated one
  • Sprouts' EDI compliance charges, if any
  • Ship notice and label rules for deliveries to Sprouts distribution centers

Checklist

Sprouts Farmers Market EDI readiness checklist

  1. Confirm you can receive 850s and send 855s, 856s and 810s by EDI before you commit.
  2. Ask Sprouts how your EDI provider connects through its designated provider.
  3. Set up electronic funds transfer with the EFT authorization form.
  4. Accept the Workday supplier portal invitation and enroll the people who handle invoices.
  5. Acknowledge every purchase order with an 855.
  6. Reconcile promotion deductions against your promotion agreements each payment cycle.

Connectivity and contacts

How Sprouts Farmers Market connects with suppliers

What Sprouts Farmers Market's public documents say about networks and setup, and the department contacts it publishes for suppliers. Connection credentials and trading-partner IDs are exchanged with Sprouts Farmers Market during setup and are never shown on this page.

What Sprouts Farmers Market states about connecting

Department contacts Sprouts Farmers Market publishes

Listed as Sprouts Farmers Market published them. These are Sprouts Farmers Market's contacts, not ECOM's; check the source for the current details.

Avoid these

Common mistakes with Sprouts Farmers Market EDI

Skipping the acknowledgment

Sprouts lists purchase order acknowledgments among the EDI documents suppliers must be able to send.

Source: Sprouts, Become a Sprouts Supplier or Private Label Partner, Oct 31, 2026

Ignoring promotion deductions

Vendor promotions are deducted from open payables, so unreconciled deductions show up as short payments.

Source: Sprouts, Become a Sprouts Supplier or Private Label Partner, Oct 31, 2026

Connectivity

Your options for connecting to Sprouts Farmers Market

  • Sprouts' designated EDI provider

    Sprouts' vendor agreement requires EDI to run through its designated provider; its supplier resources link to the provider's onboarding sites.

    From Sprouts Farmers Market's published documents

  • Workday Financials supplier portal

    For checking payment status, updating contact information, retrieving purchase orders and submitting invoices.

    From Sprouts Farmers Market's published documents

Challenges

Common integration challenges

  • Four documents from the start

    Sprouts expects suppliers to receive purchase orders and send acknowledgments, invoices and ASNs by EDI as a condition of becoming a supplier.

  • Designated provider

    EDI must follow Sprouts' policies and run through its designated provider, so confirm how your existing EDI setup connects.

  • Promotions deducted from payables

    Vendor promotions are deducted from open payables, so remittances must be reconciled against promotion agreements.

Automation options for Sprouts Farmers Market suppliers

Four ways to automate. One foundation.

Sprouts Farmers Market's requirements on this page cover the 850, 855, 856 and 810. ECOM helps you automate them, meet Sprouts Farmers Market's labeling and ship notice requirements, and see what needs action. Sprouts Farmers Market sets its program's rules; ECOM confirms which options fit yours.

PRISM Supply Chain Automation Foundation

One platform beneath every option. Use one, or combine them for different partners and documents.

Compliance and actionable visibility

Connect order processing, shipping documentation, trading partner requirements, and performance monitoring through one coordinated workflow. These capabilities help teams improve shipment accuracy, reduce manual work, address compliance risks, and respond to exceptions before they affect customers.

Discuss Your Trading Partner Requirements

Connect Sprouts Farmers Market documents to your ERP

ECOM integrates Sprouts purchase orders, acknowledgments, ship notices and invoices with your ERP, connected through the provider route Sprouts designates.

Industry

Food and Beverage

See how ECOM supports natural and organic food suppliers with retailer EDI.

Solution

Order-to-Cash Automation

Reconcile Sprouts payments and promotion deductions against open invoices.

Next step

Get help with your Sprouts Farmers Market program

Each request goes to an ECOM EDI specialist with Sprouts Farmers Market's name attached, so the reply starts from your program.

  • Review Sprouts Farmers Market's requirements

    Send us Sprouts Farmers Market's guide or your program details; we explain the documents, rules and options for meeting them.

    Request a requirements review
  • Connect Sprouts Farmers Market to your ERP

    Orders in, ship notices and invoices out, from the ERP and warehouse systems you already run.

    Discuss ERP integration
  • Testing and certification

    Build, test and certify each Sprouts Farmers Market document, then go live with monitoring from the first file.

    Plan testing and certification
  • Shipping labels and ASNs

    Labels and ship notices that match Sprouts Farmers Market's rules, to help avoid receiving problems and compliance deductions.

    Review shipping compliance

Sprouts Farmers Market integration FAQs

Does Sprouts require EDI?

Sprouts asks new suppliers to commit to using EDI to receive purchase orders and to send purchase order acknowledgments, invoices and ASNs.

Which EDI provider does Sprouts use?

Sprouts' vendor agreement says EDI runs through its designated provider, and its supplier resources link to the provider's sites for getting started with EDI.

What are Sprouts' payment terms?

Sprouts lists standard net 30 payment terms, with vendor promotions deducted from open payables, and requires electronic funds transfer for domestic vendors.

Where do Sprouts suppliers submit invoices and check payments?

In the Workday Financials supplier portal, which suppliers join by email invitation once their product is selected.

Is ECOM a Sprouts-approved provider?

This page is an integration guide and does not indicate an approval or partnership with Sprouts. ECOM builds integrations to the requirements Sprouts publishes.

Sources and accuracy

This guide summarizes publicly available information as of October 2026. Sprouts Farmers Market sets its own requirements and can change them at any time; your Sprouts Farmers Market implementation guide, supplier portal or account contact is the authoritative source for your program.

Sprouts Farmers Market documents cited on this page

Learn the general practice

Request Sprouts Farmers Market integration assistance

Tell us about your Sprouts Farmers Market program, documents and ERP. We will outline the connection, mapping and testing plan.